Wolverines 42 – 51 Roosters

How I hate to write these posts. I guess it is part of the self-imposed responsibility of writing this blog. One must take the rough with the smooth; and how very rough this week was.

Photo courtesy of Riku Flink.

First up, congratulations to the Roosters. They picked us apart like a hungry scavenger tearing the scraps from rotting carcass. They thoroughly outplayed us and were deserving winners. Hopefully we’ll get a shot to settle the scores later in the year.

Monday was an awful day. As positive as one tries to stay after a loss like that, it takes a while for the reality to set in and to come to terms with the implications for the rest of the season. Watching the film doesn’t help at all, but it is necessary. There is no motivation to work hard at improving that can even come close to seeing yourself play poorly. You cannot escape it.

Further to that, even my friends who only started to watch football when I started bringing them to my games are becoming able to voice criticism. I am glad because it provides yet more motivation but it is also hard to hear and it just exacerbates the crushing embarrassment.

Onwards we must go, however. From such an awful performance, we now have a platform from which to build. We have seen plenty of highs this season. On Sunday we were introduced to the lows. As Coach Randi told us after the game, we are good, but we are by no means invincible. If we want to defend our Maple Bowl championship then we have a lot of hard work to do.

Best wishes to number 14. I hope you have a speedy recovery. Photo courtesy of Riku Flink.

The challenge does not get any easier any time soon. We face the undefeated Crocodiles on Sunday in a match that we must win if we hope to have a chance of playing a home fixture in the playoffs. We have been torn apart by injuries recently, which it is tough to work through, but the attitude at practice this week has nullified any negativity.

It’s so tough to write a post like this without it bursting with hyperbole and cliché. I am quite sure that I have failed to do so. In which case, I might as well go the whole hog and throw in an excerpt from some poetry, courtesy of Mr William Ernest Henley. Enjoy.

In the fell clutch of circumstance,
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance,
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

