Family Fun, Fitness and Fashion

I’m back. Fresh from a weekend with the family in Ireland to celebrate my Uncle’s birthday. It was great to see everyone and to have a couple of pints of Guinness straight from the source. Thank you, Hennessy clan.

There is not much to report at the moment as we are still in the midseason break. Full team practice starts again on Tuesday in preparation for the Butchers game. Until then we are just working on personal fitness. Yesterday I explored a workout that is definitely new to me.

In the woods behind our house there is a series of trails that are used for walking, running and cycling in the summer. I assume they are used for cross-country skiing in the winter (apparently it snows here). In the heart of these woods, next to one of the trails, is a piece of gym equipment made entirely from timber. It has the appearance of playground equipment that one would generally find at any British primary school. However, this is no climbing frame. It consists of three sit-up benches, a chin-up bar, dip frame and countless other features. The piece next to it is slightly more ominous. On this monstrosity there are four logs of increasing size that are hinged at one end so that they can be lifted at the other end. Good for squatting, pressing and whatever else the creative mind can come up with.

So yesterday evening’s workout involved a run through the woods to the prehistoric multi-gym, a quick workout routine followed by a stagger home. It destroyed me.

The previous evening, I had been down at the practice field doing some running and was fortunate enough to bump into 10 or so second team players who had gone to the field for a workout. They were kind enough to let me help them out with a few coaching tips. It was great fun and more importantly it was fantastic to work with the guys who were attentive and took everything on board. Hopefully there’ll be more chances to lend a hand before the season is out. I have to put my hands up and admit something, however. We finished the session with a game of touch football between the linemen and the receivers/DBs. The linemen won. They thought we drew. Linemen can’t count. The shame will stay with me forever.

Before signing off, I’d like to share with you a little purchase I’ve made. I had to leave my old Dunlop Green Flash here last year so I thought I’d get some new ones. I thought it might be nice to personalise them a bit….

20110623-125118.jpg

Hope everyone is well.

Bam

x

